THE CINNAMON BEAR – The Lost Christmas Classic

This is truly a lost Christmas classic! It takes a bit of The Wizard of Oz and splices it with The Bluebird of Happiness then foreshadows H.R. Pufnstuf. In 26 cliffhanger installments of 15-minutes, The Cinnamon Bear is intended to be heard between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Twins Judy and Jimmy Barton crawled into their attic one December day searching for any sign of the silver star that always sat atop their Christmas tree and accidentally found a passageway to a place called Maybe-Land.

In their explorations, they crossed paths with Paddy O’Cinnamon, the Cinnamon Bear, who had shoe-button eyes and a “ferocious” growl.

Paddy showed them a tiny hole through which the Crazy Quilt Dragon had absconded through with their silver star and invited Judy and Jimmy to pursue the scoundrel with him.

Paddy would guide Judy and Jimmy throughout Maybe-Land in their pursuit of the silver star.

He “de-grew” the twins so they’d fit through the attic tunnel, fired up a miniature airplane powered by soda pop, and flew Judy and Jimmy into a startling and wondrous adventure.

So begins “The Cinnamon Bear,” a delightful, one-of-a-kind children’s series produced in 1937 by TRANSCO, the Transcription Company of America.

Complete Cinnamon Bear Series

by Red Cell

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll Up